Questions, Time and Faith in God

There are some questions I sometimes wish no one would ask me but wishes are just wishes…People I meet for the very first time in trying to make meaningful conversation, ask about my children… Of course who wouldn’t want to talk of their children? Indeed it’s a great joy to talk about one’s children and I’ve seen the emotional ‘high’ of many when their children are mentioned.

I suppose my interlocutor meant no harm and in her ignorance assumed my face would light up with joy and that I would begin to ramble about all the exploits of my kids. Well, as you can imagine this was not the case.. Unable to lie, I quietly and abruptly mentioned that I didn’t have any… well not yet.

I assumed she would get the cue and  probe no further… You could imagine the shock I had when she continued to dig in for information as if her existence depended on it. This was a  younger  woman I had just met in the course of work and hardly knew much about yet here she was inadvertently reminding me of what I was ‘missing’.

The “clincher” question was ‘ For how long have you been married?’ In that brief  moment that her question rang out, my mind and my heart refused to give in to the lie of the devil… I politely told her that I preferred not to answer her question since it touched a sensitive spot. She apologized and we talked about other issues. All the while, I was amazed at my own calm disposition in the face of this psychologically demoralizing incident. I just knew that it was the grace of God that sustained me…

This lovely young woman just wanted to make conversation around a general issue, without meaning any harm. I refused to have my day spoilt by harbouring resentment and I made up my mind not to give it further thought.  If I had answered her, she might have simply offered some sympathy, perhaps with a ‘dash’ of doubt, nothing more. What is man’s sympathy when we have the promise of God to hold on to?

I have reached the point where I know that my God is bigger and greater than my circumstance. Although the doctor’s  reports and all the talk about biological clocks may  threaten my faith, God is still greater and He’s able to do so much more than my limited mind can fathom or imagine. I give Him the praise for His goodness towards me. I thank Him that He is my portion in this life and with Him  time is not a hindering issue.

2 Peter 3:8  But, beloved, be not ignorant of this one thing, that one day is with the Lord as a thousand years, and a thousand years as one day.

In this and every situation, He is MORE than able. I continue to speak His word over each circumstance I may face; I continue to look up to Him from whom my help comes and He strengthens me  every step of the way…

If you are out there facing any situation that seems beyond your call, I would like to encourage you never to lose hope. Stand firm on the Word of God even though you may sometimes seem ridiculous to those around you. Keep focused on the Lord, He will see you through!

Psalms 27:13 -14 I had fainted, unless I had believed to see the goodness of the LORD in the land of the living.  Wait on the LORD: be of good courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart: wait, I say, on the LORD.

8 thoughts on “Questions, Time and Faith in God

  1. Thank you for this message, it reminds us that God can do all things because he is limitless, it also reminds us to be other people centered and to focus on God wholly when it seems that things in our life is not going according to plan, God has his own plan for our lives, we just need to be patient.

  2. Your post just touched my heart profoundly and renewed my hope. People always ask me either “how long I’ve been married”, or “how long I’ve been divorced”. This is humiliating for me because, I’ve never even been married. I should do what you did and just politely not answer the question.

    Your faith in God is amazing. Thank you! I look forward to reading much more of your inspiring work.

    Love,
    Ava

  3. What a thoughtful post, Sabina… I’m so sorry for the struggle you are going through.

    Although I have not had the exact same struggle, I can relate to people ignoring the hints that a certain topic is difficult. You were so wise and brave to be very direct to end the topic. Hopefully I will remember how you handled this the next time I am in a similar situation.

  4. You’re a great blessing ,Sab. God bless you. I strongly believe that some of the hard times we go through are to toughen us so we can be a blessing to others.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.